The Worcester Collection of Sacred Harmony

The Worcester Collection of Sacred Harmony  The Worcester Collection first appeared in 1786, the work of compiler, printer, and publisher Isaiah Thomas (1749-1831).  The first five editions reveal no author, but the prefaces are signed by Thomas.  With a total of eight editions during 1786-1803, the work became ‘by all standards the most popular tunebook of the day, and as such was a work for other collections to follow and emulate’ (Kroeger, p. xxii).  Compilers and composers represented include William Billings*, Nathaniel D. Gould*, Thomas Hastings*, Oliver Holden*, Stephen Jenks*, Andrew Law*, Martin Madan*, Amos Pilsbury*, Daniel Read*, Timothy Swan*, William Tans'ur*, and John...

If you have a valid subscription to Dictionary of Hymnology, please log in to view this content. If you require a subscription, please click here.

Cite this article