Hymns of the Spirit

Hymns of the Spirit (1864). This was the title of a major anthology edited by the Unitarian ministers Samuel Longfellow* and Samuel Johnson*, published at Boston, Massachusetts, in 1864. It contained 717 hymns, arranged in two principal sections: 1. Worship; 2. God and His Manifestations. The first was divided into: Usual Public Worship Special Occasions. The second was divided as follows: God in Himself; God in Nature; God in the Soul; God in the Life; God in Humanity. The subdivisions of the last of these give an idea of the character of the book as whole: ‘In All Ages’; ‘The Hebrew Prophets’; ‘Christianity’; ‘The Protestant Reformation’; ‘The Pilgrim Fathers’; ‘The...

If you have a valid subscription to Dictionary of Hymnology, please log in to view this content. If you require a subscription, please click here.

Cite this article