Hymns for Today’s Church

Hymns for Today’s Church (HFTC) (1982). Hymns for Today’s Church (1982) was the work of a British group of mainly Anglican evangelical authors and composers, some of whom had worked together on Psalm Praise (1973) and who by then had formed Jubilate Hymns*. Chaired by Michael Saward* (words) and David Wilson* (music), the two committees had Michael Baughen* as Consultant Editor; he was Rector of All Souls’, Langham Place, London, until becoming Bishop of Chester just before the book was published. It included a large proportion of items contributed by the compilers as well as by Timothy Dudley-Smith* (46 texts), and some previously unpublished authors, and added a small built-in song...

If you have a valid subscription to Dictionary of Hymnology, please log in to view this content. If you require a subscription, please click here.

Cite this article