Believers Hymn Book

The Believers Hymn Book, with supplement, for use at Assemblings of the Lord’s People, was published in 1959. It is the most recent edition of The Believers Hymn Book of 1884. The title has no apostrophe. See Brethren hymnody, British*. From 1 to 326 the hymns are arranged alphabetically. From 327 to 360 they appear in random order. From 361 (‘All hail the power of Jesu's name’*) to 464 (‘Ye servants of God, your Master proclaim’*) the hymns are again arranged alphabetically, followed by a doxology (‘Now to Him who loved us, gave us’ by Samuel M. Waring), bringing the number up to 465. The book begins with ‘Abba, Father! we approach Thee’, by James George Deck*, and Deck is well...

If you have a valid subscription to Dictionary of Hymnology, please log in to view this content. If you require a subscription, please click here.

Cite this article